There are a wide variety of awards, bursaries, scholarships and prizes available for Postgraduate Trainees in the following categories:

PGME Administered Awards

Applications must be submitted to the Award Selection Committee via email to AwardsPGME@umanitoba.ca no sooner than 1 month prior to the application deadline.

Ideal Application Format:
 One complete PDF Binder (per award)

Acceptable Alternative Format: One single email containing all application documents in PDF format.

Hard copy (paper) applications will not be accepted.

PGME Administered Awards - 2021/2022 Academic Year






January 21, 2022


January 21, 2022


April 8, 2022


April 8, 2022

Download  April 29, 2022


May 6, 2022


May 6, 2022


If you have any questions about awards administered by PGME please contact AwardsPGME@umanitoba.caFor awards not administered by PGME, please see the individual department pages listed below for contact information.

Department Administered Awards

For further information on the following department-specific awards, please contact the Department/Section offering the award.  

Dr. Donalda Margaret Huggins Scholarship  
MMCF - Carl Duerksen Memorial Scholarship

Community Health Sciences 
MMCF - Community Medicine Education and Research Travel Award

Family Medicine
Susan Wright Bell Award for the Study of Developmental Disabilities 
Unicity Labs Family Medicine Travel Award

Internal Medicine
Dr. Hector Ma Research Award in Internal Medicine
Emy Ozamoto Resident Research Award for Quality Improvement

Sanofi Canada/Heart & Stroke Foundation Award in Cardiology
        D. M. Stevens Foundation Scholarship

        Medical Oncology
        Caroline A. Cope Award for Excellence in Oncology Research
        Emil and Lynette Hain Scholarship for Oncology Research
        Right Honourable Don Mazankowski Award for Excellence

MMCF - Henry Melmed Memorial Prize
        Robert T. Ross Postgraduate Medical Education Scholarship

Medical Microbiology 
MMCF - Jack Wilt Travel Award

Obstetrics and Gynecology 
Dr. A.A. Earn Memorial Award 
Dr. I.C. and Mrs. M. Peever Memorial Fund 
Dr. Max Rady Memorial Prize 
Dr. Marvin Raynes Memorial Prize 
Dr. Michael Bruser Memorial Award 

MMCF - Dr. Sam McMorris Memorial Prize


Dr. Charlie Ferguson Scholarship in Medicine

Postgraduate Medical Education - Clinician Investigator Program
Drs. Hugh C. & Aynsley M. Smith Scholarship

MMCF - Dr. Jack Sheps Memorial Prize

Dr. Sydney Rogers Scholarship Fund
University of Manitoba Radiology Scholarship and Travel Award

George W. Leroux Memorial Award
MMCF - Dr. S. Kay Travel Award

       Dr. and Mrs. Victor Rosenfield Prize
        Dr. Elmer S. James Memorial Fund 
        Dr. H.P.H. Galloway Memorial Scholarship

        David Swartz M.D. Memorial Award 

PARIM Awards

PARIM Staff & Resident Awards

External Funding and Awards

Banting Postdoctoral Fellowships
Canadian Institutes of Health Research
CFPC Awards for Family Medicine Residents
CTN Postdoctoral Fellowship Awards
J.A. Campbell Research Awards
Medical Student/Resident Financial Assistance Program (MSRFAP)

RCPSC Awards
The Sandra Banner Student Award for Leadership
Gudmundur Myrdal Bursary