Area of Focused Competence (AFC)

An Area of Focused Competence (Diploma) or AFC (Diploma) Program is a highly-specialized area of expertise within a medical specialty or subspecialty that addresses a specific  societal need but does not  meet the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada (RCPSC) criteria of an independent specialty or subspecialty discipline. The length of training is typically 1-2 years. Training is competency-based.

An AFC (Diploma) represents one of the following:

  1. Supplemental competencies that enhance the practice of physicians in an existing discipline
  2. A highly-specific and narrow scope of practice that does not meet the criteria of a subspecialty discipline

There are four types of AFC programs, including the following:

  • Entry from a specialty
  • Entry from a subspecialty
  • Conjoint programs (CFPC/RCPSC): entry with primary certification from either College
  • Non-clinical (entry from any M.D.)

Successful AFC (Diploma) candidates become Diplomates of the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada (Diplomate Affiliate members if the candidate does not have RCPSC specialty or subspecialty certification).

AFC (Diploma) Program Accreditation:   AFC programs must be accredited by the RCPSC and must adhere to the RCPSC AFC Accreditation Standards (“C” Standards).

University of Manitoba Accredited AFC (Diploma) Programs:   

Adult Hepatology - Application Information

Adult Interventional Cardiology - Application Information  

Eligibility Criteria:
see Section VIII 8.1 - of the RCPSC Policy and Procedures Manual (2018)

Entry Criteria for Individual AFC (Diploma) Programs:    
see Section VIII 8.2 of the RCPSC Policy and Procedures Manual (2018)

For individuals who are enrolled in a Royal College accredited AFC (diploma) training program: